I'm sure it's been asked but I am unable to check at the moment...

I have a Fender HRD that needs to be completely retubed. Which ones sound best? JJ's, mullards, etc? I've heard a lot about those 2 and they're the only ones I can think of at the moment.

I also have an early 90's crate V50 3x10, same deal. Anyone have one of these and do you have any pointers?

What do you guys suggest? I've never had one of my amps retubed so I'm totally new to this!

Thanks guys!!!
ΦΚΣ

Life is short. PLAY LOUD!
SED are better than JJ but JJ are better value for money.
My usual plan of attack if I'm not using NOS everywhere is to start with all JJ and then experiment with different others in one or two positions, mainly V1 and the phase inverter.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
So once the power tubes are happy in paradise (they're EL84's), the V1 preamp makes the most difference? It is the first tube hit with signal in the pre section right? Or am I totally off?

From the discussion about the 12at7 eh, it sounded like all the tubes you guys listed were mostly interchangable. I'm interested in the 5751's. Lower gain, higher headroom, different feel? I'm wanting to keep my cleans super clean and the OD smooth and organic. It certainly wasn't bad before, but it is a crate and could be better. Is Sovtek the big one for these?

I'll be getting all this done as soon as I can get the amp out to a tech to properly tickle the amp's girly parts. Might be a couple weeks so I have some time to hash out the details beforehand. I'll definitely be back on how all this works out regardless of what ends up happening with the amp.
ΦΚΣ

Look at TAD tubes.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)