I guess this can double as my intro post. My name is Will and I've been playing guitar for about 4 months now. I've owned a few cheesy guitars (Squiers, Silvertone, and a Peavy) but I was given a Gibson Les Paul Studio Deluxe for Christmas. I know that's way too much guitar for someone that has only been playing for 4 months, but I've been practicing an hour or two per day and I'm dedicated to growing into the Gibson and taking care of it properly, which brings me to the questions to be addressed in this post.

I want to maintain the performance as well as the value of the guitar for the long term. The studio deluxe did not come with a pick guard, but Gibson sells pick guards for that model. Do you think the guitar would be worth more 40 years from now with the OE pick guard? Note that if I buy it, I would have Guitar Center install it - I wouldn't install it myself.

My second question is about straps. I think the Gibson guitar should be matched with a Gibson strap. Since I know nothing about guitars, I don't know if that is the best way to maximize value later on or which strap matches and performs the best. I'd rather spend $150 on a strap that doesn't match perfectly but doesn't drop my guitar. What do you recommend?

Right now, I'm collecting the little pieces that might not be available in the future. I have about a hundred Gibson picks and 10 packs of "vintage re-issue" Gibson strings, the Gibson case, all the paperwork, etc. The end goal is in 40 years, I want to have a Guitar and accessories that I can be really proud of.
I don't really think a pick guard will increase the value of a guitar and there only held in with 2 screws which is a simple job to do yourself instead of paying a fortune for a guitar shop to do for you.

A strap doesn't have to 'match' the guitar, if your cautious about the guitar comimg of the strap id recommend you to get strap locks or one of them dimarzio straps which lock on to your guitar and there only £20 or so.