So I work as a freight handler in a warehouse unloading trucks. For my job we have a point system for tardiness and mishaps in the work place.

On Tuesday I called in a 6:50, we start work at 6:15, to tell my boss I wasn't going to make it to work because I had been puking and had diarrhea all morning.

Today he hands me a sheet of paper to sign telling me a received two points for missing work. Five points ends in a termination. So I signed understanding a rule is a rule and I had broken it.

However, a co-worker came into today hours late because he was out drinking last night and received half a point. Which in turn made me upset with the policy in place.

I had a legitimate excuse for missing work and received a harsher punishment.

Does this make any sense to you guys?

TL;DR

I called in sick for work, got two points. (5 ends in termination.)
Co-worker came in hours late do to a hangover and received half a point.

WTF?
Last edited by peaches58` at Feb 17, 2012,
he still came in...

that's the only explanation i can give ya, sorry.

edit: maybe he worked an extra couple of hours to make up for it (or promised to work them at a later date)
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
- You should've called earlier
- Hungover guy was probably drinking with his boss the night before
- Life's a bitch
ggg1 ggg3

Quote by a_7_x
Ask your boss about it?

I decided not to because I usually never miss work or come in late.

Also I would have called in sooner had I been able to get out of the bathroom with out throwing up and or shitting all over the place.
You acted extremely unprofessional by calling in AFTER your shift began.

The other co-worker may have called in earlier explaining he would be late. (just a hypothesis, may be other reasons)
The lake was silent for some time. Finally it said: