Not sure if this is right spot, so I apologize if not.

I am getting two books from Amazon very soon related to guitars. But before I dive into them, can I tell you where I am at know?

I have been playing since Christmas 2011 and have taken some online video instructions for beginners from Marty Schwartz. I know "by heart" C, D, A, Am, E, Em, G. I think F too (similar to A minor I believe - my noobness is exposed, I know the shape, not the name as of right now arg!!!). I practice these everyday. I can progress through most of these fine except the C chord which is slowly coming along.

I have learned the tab for Start Spangled Banner which is very fun and helps my fingers I believe move around the strings on the fretboard (is that the term?). I dink around here and there with tabs but nothing too serious as I want to learn MUSIC and improvisation (eventually) versus just playing tabbed music and can't do much else.

Here is what I am getting:
http://www.amazon.com/Music-Theory-Guitarists-Everything-Wanted/dp/063406651X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1329512290&sr=8-1
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0634047019/ref=oh_o01_s00_i01_details

I'll be honest, these looked like decent books to learn from, but I kind of went on a whim and got them without asking anyone. I might get burned, but they could be great books too.

tl;dr

Does anyone recommend anything bookwise to learn theory or guitar?
I can't recommend any books, but I'll say you have access to some quite advanced theory knowledge simply by browsing this site/forums.

If you want to be pointed in a direction, I would suggest learning chord structure first (do you know what a triad is? How to construct them?) and figuring out how the formula works for all those major open chords everyone knows so you can make your own chords anywhere on the fretboard you like.