I figured here would be the best place to ask this?

Basically, I've been asked to teach a family friend and his 6 year old son to play the guitar?

Where should I start?

I'm thinking basic guitar anatomy, simple streching exercise, and maybe a few open chords?

But... WHICH chords?

And then where o go from there (barre chords Maybe)

Also, how can I keep a 6 y/o interested???
Quote by Spaztikko
Imagine the part of the ballsack where occasionally old poo sticks to the pubes and hardens, and you then have to pull out, but as an amp. That's an MG.

Greatest quote of all time?

I think so...
I started playing saxophone when I was 8 and had 20 minute lessons every thursday.

I had a series of books called Standards of Excellence, which I think is aimed at children. We would just work our way through the book (by we I mean me and the teacher), and once one book was finished, I'd go onto the next book.

It had notes, scales, site reading exercises and songs in it.

You could find a similar book, or put your own pack together.
I tend to do this as a first lesson for youngsters, so here's my suggestions after you've been acquainted and found out why he's playing and what he enjoys listening to.

Quick run through guitar anatomy - as long as he knows how to get his fingers around the fretboard and is sat with decent posture then I thin that'd do for now.

Tune his guitar to an open d chord and tell him frets 2 3 5 and 7 are good. Great way to get a beginner actually playing music straight away. After a little bit of fun, retune to standard.

Then learn string names EADGBe - Elephants And Donkeys Grow Big ears

Smoke on the Water Riff on 1 string + introduce to tablature... --0---3---5-- etc etc dead easy

Then as for chords throw in 1 finger G and C, then give the challenge of D.

||:G / / / | D / / / | C / / / | C / / / :|| - Knocking On Heaven's Door, Boom!