Before the actual post, a brief preface: I've been playing guitar and singing for five years, and piano for two years. A couple of roommates of mine (who play guitar and drums, respectively) have talked about forming a little band for parties and such. We have no attention of taking it anywhere after college. I've offered to pick up bass. Only problem is that I don't have a bass or amp. So what would Bass Forum recommend?

TL;DR: I need some recommendations for a bass/amp. It doesn't have to be anything close to amazing. I'll probably be playing everything from hip-hop to Muse-style rock. Ideal price range is under 500USD.

Thanks in advance for your time.
Quote by SonOfPest
Its the Lydian mode; formed in Eastern Arabia when the Persians invaded England.

Quote by Blind In 1 Ear
try the sexolydian scale.
Peavey Millenium BXP Bass (I play the slightly more expensice Active version), really solid and versatile bass guitar, should be $300 or less.

And for an amp, I would recommend an Line6 LowDown Studio 110 which is about $200.

But if you shop around, you should be able to get it at a better price.
Last edited by Spanner93 at Feb 19, 2012,
^ If he's gonna be in a band with drums, do you really think a 1x10 would cut it? Granted, his budget isn't gonna get him a huge cab, but it shouldn't be too hard getting atleast a 115 combo.

Since you're paying with USD, I'm gonna assume you're in the US. Try looking at some Acoustic combos, or maybe you can pick up a used Peavey TKO combo.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Acoustic-B200-200W-1x15-Bass-Combo-104813787-i1399999.gc

It's about $350, but maybe you can find one used. You might not even need anything that big and loud, but if you're playing with a guitarist and a drummer, 200W is cutting the bare minimum. What is your guitarist playing through TS? And is your drummer loud? All important questions.
pinga
Quote by Cb4rabid
What is your guitarist playing through TS? And is your drummer loud? All important questions.