Hey guys!
Im an amateur guitar and ive been playing for 6-8 months now. Im perfect with power chords, barre chords and open position chords. U can play a few solos, dont know if they're hard or easy, solos like the one in The Final Countdown, Mark Tremonti's solo in Open your eyes and a couple of Bullet for my valentine solos. I dont know any of the scales or any 'rare' chords as I like to call em.. I like to play most metalcore, heavy metal, classic rock, acoustic etc.
So can you guys tell me all the basic scales and all the necessary chords to learn?

Thanks and I hope you reply!
Yamaha Pacifica 012
Peavey Vypyr 15

Quote by jukejointjohnny
Pro Tip - Neck pickup, tone dial rolled all the way off, makes tuners respond WAY more accurately. I only learned this trick fairly recently, and it actually works.
Pentatonic scale is the best place to start. Then add in the dimineshed 5th to the Pentatonic to make it the blues scale. Once you're comfortable with that, learn the blues scale in all of it's positions. You should have no problem improving after knowing the pentatonic scale.
why is everyone suggesting pentatonic, that scale is kinda useless, i never learned it, if you play metalcore you can start with: c minor and then c harmonic minor, d# augmented fifth, d be bop and skip all that useless stuff you will never use
Last edited by Reages at Feb 20, 2012,
Well if your looking for a basic scale that you can improvise off of then you should learn your pentatonic scales.
Trust me, I'm a Jedi.

Quote by Minkaro
You must control your use of the force, young Trizek.
This is for the minor pentatonic scale.

http://www.guitaristsource.com/lessons/scales/minor_pentatonic_scale.shtml