I was trying to play along to a song today and anyway this question just jumped into my head.

How do most guitarists count while playing with their band?

Or is it just so much practice its an instinct?
It depends, on some songs I count, and on others I don't.
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album
As a drummer, who is the main man responsible for counting, it reallt just becomes natural, for certain time signatures. I never lose my self when it comes to 4/4, 6/8 and generic signatures like that, but like most musicians, it becomes very difficult when you start messing around with weird signatures like 7/8, 5/4 and ones of that nature. best way to get good is to jam with someone or something that is on time, like a drummer or to your favorite song, whatever you feel.
I couldn't agree more with arnolddrummer. I am a guitarist but have been a musician for my whole life. I never count with simple time sigs, but yes, when they get complex, like 7/8, 5/8, I do actually count. Sometimes it does help to count outloud and not in your head. Helps get the point across or something
I don't count. I've played enough where I can feel the groove in any time signature.
Ibanez RG2228 w/ EMG808Xs | Line 6 POD HD500 | Mackie HD1221
But boys will be boys and girls have those eyes
that'll cut you to ribbons, sometimes
and all you can do is just wait by the moon
and bleed if it's what she says you ought to do
i don't. i just look at the music and play it.

if i don't have music, it's even easier -- i hear it and i play it.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
You count until it's second nature.
People say they dont count simple time signatures because they're so accustomed to them already.

Though when I'm playing jazz, I'll still mouth the triplets to myself "doo-uh-la"
Quote by Banjocal