Hey Guys,

wondering if you could spare me some jazz solo ideas for the following songs. I'm new to the whole improvisational thing and im stuck in the standard pentatonic and blues boxes. Some scale ideas and arpeggios etc etc.

Autumn Leaves
Blue Bossa
Blue Monk
Ok.

Autumn Leaves is almost entirely diatonic - you're just going between the major and the relative minor key.

I would suggest "thinking" Bb (or whatever key you're playing it in) major for most of the song, but work out arpeggio studies over the changes. Choose a position. Play the 7th arpeggio of each chord in 8th notes as it occurs. Do this in multiple positions. It will take time, but it will force those shapes and changes into your mind.

Blue Bossa is a similar thing...it modulates a bit, but it's mostly in one key.

These two aren't going to do much to force you out of your comfort zone, because you can convincingly get away with just diddling around the scale of the key. But if you want a starting point...work out the arpeggios, and try introducing some altered options over any dom7's or ii-V's that pop up. Learn your melodic minor scales (especially so you can play altered lines - this is the 7th mode of mel min.).

I could give you at least 10 more exercises/technique approaches to developing a vocabulary over these songs, but it wouldn't do you any good. You need to start with the basics and work up from there. MOST IMPORTANTLY you need to listen to the original recordings and transcribe or at least analyze what the soloists are doing - that's what's going to give you the immediate lines and melodic concepts you need to tackle this stuff.