Alright guys, a few years ago, a friend of mine who was made awesome synth music introduced me to FL Studio. He showed me how to operate the basics of the program and I really enjoyed how simple everything seemed to be. Well, I've been dicking around in the program since then, but I recently got myself a very nice rig and I want to get VERY serious about recording. As in, I want to make it my career if possible. I am a rock/metal musician, and I consider myself to be an intermediate player. I want to eventually produce professional or near professional sounding tracks (something like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9wwnQez0yE&fb_source=message). But most places I've read on the internet says "FL Studio is definitely not the DAW you want to use, especially for rock!" Ok, I can respect that, but I need to know: Is that an elitist opinion, or is that statement grounded in fact? Like I've said, I already have a decent foothold in navigating FL Studio, so it would be a bit of a detour to get into a new DAW. But I'm willing to do anything it takes.

After figuring out which DAW I want to use, I need to find a general guide on audio production. I mean, I need something that starts at the very bottom, takes NOTHING for granted when explaining things, and treats me like the complete idiot that I am when it comes to audio production. There is no limit to how much I will read to learn this stuff. Where do you guys recommend I start? I see all these nice tutorials and stuff, but they're always very specific and I never know how to actually APPLY them.

I learn best with EXAMPLES. If I could find a guide that says something like "If you hear *this* (with a sound file) in your mix, then you have an imbalance in this and this, and you should apply a compressor with these settings blah blah blah." Are there any learning sources that teach with examples?