and learn something else with-out feeling like I missed something? What should I learn about them? I don't expect to learn everything about them (Unless I should, keep in mind I'm not a complete beginner but no where close as good with theory as most of you) Anyone that could name some things to learn would be very helpful.
How to make music with them.

You should be able to create melodies with them that are at least a little catchy. You should understand exactly what each note is going to sound like over each chord in a progression BEFORE you play it. You should be able to sing patterns in them and then instantly play those patterns without having to hunt and peck for it. You should be able to hear a lick, recognize whether it's in major or minor, and play it.

They should not be shapes on the fretboard - they should be musical ideas.
Quote by HotspurJr

Yep, also how to harmonise them, keys.....

You never really "move on" from the major and minor scales.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Quote by tmr7350
the 5 patterns, roots, arpeggios, caged system, ref chords

Ref chords??

Quote by HotspurJr

You should be able to create melodies with them that are at least a little catchy. You should understand exactly what each note is going to sound like over each chord in a progression BEFORE you play it. You should be able to sing patterns in them and then instantly play those patterns without having to hunt and peck for it. You should be able to hear a lick, recognize whether it's in major or minor, and play it.

They should not be shapes on the fretboard - they should be musical ideas.

A melody is a chord progression, right? Excuse my ignorance.