View poll results: Which one?
Acoustic 5 string
1 3%
Electric 5-string
12 39%
Electric 4-string
18 58%
Voters: 31.
I've considered buying a fretless bass guitar and learn how to play it. I've been playing "regular"/fretted bass since December 2009.
Now, I don't want to spend too much on one in case I wouldn't like it so I've picked a Harley Benton bass, because it's cheap. I don't know any music stores around my area where I could try one out beforehand.

This is the bass I've purchased, I'm now just waiting for it to arrive.
4-string electric bass
fficial&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=sv&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=hPlET8m3Icep4gSS7umXAw&biw=1540&bih=842&sei=hvlET8raBIfk4QT3jrmbAw#um=1&hl=sv&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:sv-SE%3Aofficial&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=HARLEY+BENTON+HBB400FLTBK&oq=HARLEY+BENTON+HBB400FLTBK&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&gs_sm=3&gs_upl=8891l8891l0l10056l1l1l0l0l0l0l135l135l0.1l1l0&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.,cf.osb&fp=73ebc14a0a4cae&biw=1540&bih=842">Google Images search
- Electric, 4-string
- 1x JB pickup, 1x PB pickup, chrome hardware, active electronics, die-cast machine heads
- 136 €

Also, if anybody have some pointers regarding fretless basses, or just something that I should know, please share.
Quote by Kill A Kitten
You know that old saying: "Men who play bass in the band have the largest genitalia." Well, it's the same for women.
Last edited by Low Man's Lyric at Mar 4, 2012,
how is your ear?
Do you have a teacher helping you tackle the new instrument?
Quote by NicolasD
how is your ear?
Do you have a teacher helping you tackle the new instrument?

My ear is probably pretty okay, I thought I'd practice it with the fretless bass, because well, I'd have to.

And no teacher.
Quote by Kill A Kitten
You know that old saying: "Men who play bass in the band have the largest genitalia." Well, it's the same for women.