(I'm new to this, don't know if this is in the right section)

I've got a Jackson from the JS series. I've been looking to upgrade it, but i can't afford to as money is tight at the minute. I settled on the idea of working with what i've got by upgrading the pickups and tuners. The tuners are sorted (grover 18:1 or if you can suggest something better but not overly expensive).

In terms of pickups, I'm totally confused on what to go for. I play metal/rock and want a decent amount of high end. They can't be muddy at drop tunings though.

I've look at EMGs, Seymour Duncans, DiMarzios and Bareknuckles. But I seriously don't know what to go for. My budget is about £150-£200 if it helps. Anything other information just ask
Personally, I'm a fan of the Gibbo 490r's in my lp studio, they give me plenty of bite, more so than my Ibanez Sabre series... If anything, steer clear of Infinity pickups.
Barenuckles are awesome. I talked with the guys over there and they seem for real. With my calculations I believe with everything they are like 250-300 for a set. If you are willing to pay that then go for it.
I would seriously look at Irongear pickups. The guy who makes them sells them himself so there's no hefty markups at wholesale and retail levels so the price is low even with their quality at least equalling DiMarzios and SDs, the low price will definitely help you with your tight on cash issues, might even enable you to get a bridge upgrade too :p (bridges definitely worth upgrading if you're looking to improve your sound and guitar)

I'm going to assume its HH as most of the JS series are. Irongear recently started offering pickups sets including a HH set made up of their "Hot Slag" bridge pickup and "Rolling Mill" neck pickup, it's a great combo for metal and rock (from as little as £50)
there's also a HSS set if that's what your guitar needs.

Check them out at http://www.axetec.co.uk/axetec%20guitar%20parts%20spares%20pickups_044.htm
Epiphone Les Paul Plus Top