I have been playing guitar for nearly 4 years and I still use my Epiphone Les Paul Special II with a Line 6 Spider III 75W amp. Needless to say, I am due for an upgrade. Now I know you will tell me to get a new amp but I am currently playing my epi through my Mac in Garage Band so I believe a new guitar would benefit me greatly. My price range is between $500-$700. I do not have a specific genre but I do like to play a lot of grunge, alternative rock, a bit of punk, and I like to dabble in some metal. I also play a lot of clean riffs. Although I haven't tried many guitars out yet, I did play the Gibson Faded SG Special for $700 and loved it. I also looked at the Fender Deluxe Player Stratocaster for $600 but I did not play it yet. So what guitar would be great for my genre and price range?
Last edited by JimiZeppelin4 at Feb 22, 2012,
If you're looking for versatility I have an ibanez sas32ex with hardshell case for same for $400 plus shipping. It has 2 humbuckers with coil tapping to switch the from a humbuck to 2 singles. Very versitile guitar
Gibson Bill Kelliher Golden Axe Explorer
Agile Septor Pro 727
Peavey Ultra+ head
Randall XL cab w/Vintage 30s
Wampler Euphoria OD
Boss NS-2 Noise Surpressor
MXR 6-band EQ
Those guitars you list aren't significantly different from what you already got.

Might want to go for a mid-range Ibanez RG and spend the leftover cash on a pickup upgrade. Just make sure if you go with a Floyd-style trem that the knife edges haven't been f-d up by someone adjusting the action with the strings under tension--even if it's brand new; many stores either don't know better or intentionally set you up for the trem to fail sooner in the hopes that you sell it back to them cheap and buy a much more expensive replacement from them.