I'm currently taking apart and restoring an electric guitar for the first time ever. I have basic knowledge in terms of guitar specs and hand-work with replacing things on guitars. I'm being extremely careful, of course, and I am doing this restoration on an inexpensive, typically 'basic' guitar - The Fender Squier Affinity series. If I mess it all up, it's still a learning experience, minus one old guitar, half-decent guitar that has been in the storage for a while. :P

Well, as you may have guessed, the sound was awful when I got it back out. This particular guitar is known for its lack of solid tone; the pick-ups are shabby and the neckwood was dull and dead to the note.

So far, I have removed:

The scratchplate, with the volume/tone knobs and pick-up switch still attached.
All 3 pick-ups.
The neck.
The bridge.
And the back plate.

I did this so I could fully sand off the varnish (I am going off-track, but basically, I'm using a chemical method to get it down to a natural finish)

My main worry for the future is where my stupidity left me: Before removing the solder attaching the wires to the volume/tone/switch etc. and henceforth removing the pick-ups from the body and the scratchplate+the knobs and switch from the body, I didn't note down which wire was attached to which spot etc. etc. which would have been comforting to have. Right now, the body has two wires sticking out of it: A black wire and a white wire. The only thing I know is that the white wire was attached to the volume, so what does that make the white wire and the black wire?

Once I learn more knowledge on the wiring, I should be set to put new pick-ups in. I'm a bit of a reckless one when it comes to DIY. :P

Thanks a lot,

DrOctv.

(I would have put pictures up, but apparently they are too large in memory)
Quote by HowToFly
I believe this will do, if not look around the site for the proper diagram.

http://www.guitarelectronics.com/product/WDUSSS5L1201/Strat-Style-Guitar-Wiring-Diagram.html