I've been playing the guitar for a couple years, but when ya get right down to it, my skills are at a beginner level. Sure, I can improvise well. Sure, I can play by ear alright. But I know little about music theory, and I'm practicing at a whopping 40 bpm. I'm 19 years old, and I've decided playing and teaching music is what I wanna do with my life. The next sememster for my community college i'm gonna get enrolled and get my pre-requisites done, and then after that go to a college to learn music theory and composition. But I have a lot to learn. I used to know a little music theory but I haven't studied music theory in like 2 and a half years. I'm ready to take this and myself seriously.

I'm learning from Hal Leonard Guitar Method Book 1, and I've been studying from it for about two weeks now. My technique is awful. My picking hand sometimes hits the wrong strings and I don't know how to fix that. My fretting fingers are weak and I'm learning on a dreadnought. I'm doing the basic chromatic exercises (like frets 1-2-3-4 all the way up the strings to the twelfth fret) but my hand placement feels awkward and my pinky and third finger, while they seem to be getting a little more independent, the strength in all my fingers still feels pretty week after two weeks of consistent practice.

So my questions are: What should I start practicing to truly improve my technique? How can I fix the picking hand problem I'm having? Should I even worry about my aural skills until I know a little more theory and my technique and understanding of the guitar is better? How should I schedule and organize my practice time to get the best results? Are there any threads on this site or elsewhere that would really help me? What would you recommend?

Thank you,
-Mitch
First of all, you've recognized a problem. That's a good start. The next step is to create a plan to correct your deficiencies and start getting better.