I picked up a used Blackstar HT-5H head on ebay dirt cheap a couple of months ago. I had some left over cabinetry grade plywood from another project so I figured I might as well build a speaker cab instead of buying one. It turned into a more involved project than I predicted. I've never built one of these before so I took the opportunity to experiment and see how much scrap material I could use up. I had some black tolex and a few other parts to throw at it. Everything else was touch and go until I figured out what I wanted.

Stained and Varnished. The sides were not very good wood. The top and face will be left varnished. The sides will be covered in Tolex.

Almost done. I should have taken progress photos since it turned out better than I thought it would.

You can't really tell here, but the front has a slight slant to it so the speaker point slightly upward.

A little ID plate I had made up.

Warehouse Guitar Speakers Veteren 30 16 Ohm 60 watt.

I twisted two strands of 18 AWG speaker wire together for each lead and then reverse twisted them. I then covered it all in techflex and heatshrink.

Back panels. I have to finish varnishing and painting them. They'll mount on the back for a 2/3 open design. I'll be mounting a Neutrik locking 1/4" jack in the larger upper panel for the speaker connection.

Overall it turned out much better than I expected considering my lack of experience in this area. The grill cloth was fun It was a cheap one from Mojotone and I'm pretty sure it's all plastic construction so stretching it tight was a real pain. It wasn't that difficult but it sure took a lot of time.

I can't wait to finish it up this weekend and hear the amp through it.
Last edited by poppameth at Feb 23, 2012,
hmm, maybe a cab internal's transplant from the blackstar box into a wooden one that matches your cab?
Last edited by Viban at Feb 23, 2012,
Are the joints finger or dovetail? I'm having a hard time seeing it with the stain and the roundover.