I've recently started playing guitar at open mic nights with a friend, I'm predominantly a bassist so my guitar technique probably isn't perfect. During one particular song though (No one knows - QOTSA) I use barre chords a lot and at the end of the song there's an immense amount of pain in my fretting hand, mostly at the knuckles and partially in my fingers.

Is this something that goes away with time or am I gimping myself with stupid fretting technique?
I've been playing guitar for about 4 or 5 years, and it took me about a year and a half to start getting barre chords to sound clear. I don't know if its just me and you, or if our technique is just bad, but my barre chord pain never goes away. I can play through maybe one or two songs with barre chords and my hand feels a cramped mess.

I don't think its my technique, my hand seems to be postured the same as anyone else's, but then again that just might be a problem everyone has. I'm not so sure myself either.
Treble>Epiphone Prophecy EX - MXR micro Amp - MXR Blue Box - MXR Fullbore - MXR Noise Clamp - Vox AD30VT
Bass>Ibanez BTB505 - MXR Blowtorch - MXR D.I. - Peavey MaxBass 700 - Peavey TVX410
I still have the same problem while play for extended periods of time/playing live. One thing I've begun doing is: say if I'm playing a G major barre chord, I'll only use my index finger to hold down the low E string, since my other fingers are hitting the other notes. Before, I would lay my index finger down the entire third fret, hitting all the strings, and then use my other fingers onto of that. It made my wrist/hand ache, and the new way is a little bit less strain, which translates to more accurate, longer playing times. Give it a try.
Fender American Deluxe V-Neck Strat
Laguna LG300CE Acoustic Electric