Hey everyone, I'm new to guitar (just started two days ago) and new to this forum. Looking to meet some good people and hopefully learn to play the guitar fairly well.

Anyway, I've learnt all the chords to my first song. However, I can't seem to figure out the strumming. Maybe I'm just no good at strumming (yet) but I can't really pick out the difference in sounds to figure out how to strum it.

I can do the slow strumming part at the beginning (I think anyway, I hear down, down, up, down). But after that, I get completely lost.

Here is a video showing the song being played by someone, could anyone help me out? Also any tips on how to figure out the patterns would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNO56cCnBwc
Last edited by natey2k4 at Feb 24, 2012,
Really the best thing you can do is to try and make out the strumming pattern: your ears are your most important tool so you need to work on them.

Also, if you can't get it by ear right away there's nothing wrong with just picking a strumming pattern you think fits and you can work with and just running with that until you can pick out the actual pattern by ear.

Again: even if you can't get it at first by ear, keep trying. Learning anything by ear is a pretty damn steep learning curve but it is one of the most invaluable skills you will ever learn.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Really the best thing you can do is to try and make out the strumming pattern: your ears are your most important tool so you need to work on them.

Also, if you can't get it by ear right away there's nothing wrong with just picking a strumming pattern you think fits and you can work with and just running with that until you can pick out the actual pattern by ear.