So I'm in the process of buying an Ampeg 4x10 cab off of a friend, and now I need a head that goes with it. I'm a beginner bassist and have no idea what kind of head to go with it. I've only ever used combo amps, so I have no idea how to pick a good amp yet, hopefully the cab I got is good! Haven't bought it yet, so if anyone has any other suggestions for amps that would be cool too.
Washburn WI14 (Black)
Fender American Strat (Green)
Fender Precision Bass (Black)
Schecter Riot 5 DLX (Blue)
Last edited by Nastadon at Feb 25, 2012,
Budget? We need to know how much you're willing to spend.
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
Quote by Tostitos
Budget? We need to know how much you're willing to spend.
The cab cost me $200, so $200 to 250 for a head? Maybe $300.
Washburn WI14 (Black)
If you want to pay 400, I'm selling a GK700rb. Would go great with your 410 ;D

Otherwise, stay away from Peavey (high distortion rating).
You could probably find a half decent Hartke head in that price range.
Quote by Banjocal
sht up u flthy librl foogit stfu u soo mad n butthurdt ur ass is an analpocolypse cuz ur so gay "my ass hrts so mcuh" - u. your rectally vexed n anlly angushed lolo go bck 2 asslnd lolol
Don't want to spend that much, thanks though!

I found a Line 6 Lowdown 300 for $200, would it be worth it to pick that up?
Washburn WI14 (Black)
^no. Terrible sounding heads, and overpriced for the power/quality.
If you're stateside, a used Carvin would do the job nicely. Peavey might have a high distortion rating, but I don't think you'll have any audible problem if you find one in your budget--they're well built, ok sounding, and loud. The used heads just usually aren't as good of a deal as their combos.

Hartke and a GK other than backline or goldline are good options. Other than that, just keep an eye open and bounce other cool heads you see off of us (like you did with the line 6) and we can give you the dirt on them.
Quote by dullsilver_mike