Hey everyone! I'm a beginner and have been playing on a classical Yamaha. But I'm buying an acoustic and I'm stuck between two Fenders, either a GA-45s or a CD-60ce. Both are priced at about $300. Any advice? Sorry if this thread is in the wrong place!
Last edited by FoxyMulder at Feb 25, 2012,
the question is..... do you believe??? i mean have you tried them both out? personally i think that in keeping with your name, you should get a Martin X-series
I want to believe.

And Yes I've tried them both, the GA-45s sounded a little brighter and a bit better, but I can't find anything about it online really, only that it's normally $400-$700. The CD-60CE comes with a case and feels very comfortable. I can't afford a Martin.

This is probably a stupid question, but when it comes to rock (Foo Fighters, Rise Against, Led Zeppelin etc.) do you think one guitar is more suited to that type of music than the other?
: not really. ... although i probably wouldn't try to play rise against on a mandolin! everything is relative to how you percieve the sound to be. you played 'em both, which one "called" to you more? i'm fortunate enough to have a few guitars for different things. some are better at fingerpicking, some for strumming.(some just because they're a cool color... mostly its the pretty colors 'cause i suck at playin' 'em! JK) i prefer the bassier guitars as i like more A7X and 5FDP kinda stuff. i do have one thats a lot brighter than i'm comfortable with(wont name it cranky ) bottom line is only you know which one you liked better.
Ok, thanks a lot! I made up my mind I'm gonna get the cd-60ce tomorrow, super pumped!
good luck foxy and i hopr you find your sister soon!! don't forget to post a new guitar day so we can enjoy it also.
Just some back story. Musician's Friend lists the GA45s as being discontinued: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/fender-ga-45sce-grand-auditorium-acoustic-electric-guitar-cutaway