This build has quite a long back story, so please bear with me. First, let me say that I have no prior experience building guitars; I have a reasonable amount of experience with electronics and electric guitar repair, but I have never repaired an acoustic guitar, and my only experience with acoustics involved destroying an old child-size acoustic to look at the inside construction.
A few weeks ago, I started out building a guitar for an event at the state Science Olympiad this March. The guitar would have to be audible without amplification, so I was leaning towards a hollow-body design. My original designs featured a hollowbody electric fashioned out of two poplar boards, one for the top half of the body and the neck and one for the back half of the body.

I was planning to route out the insides of the two halves to hollow the guitar, but after an hour with a dovetail bit, it became apparent that this is easier said than done. Because I don't own the tools to tackle an ambitious build such as a guitar, I'm working with my neighbor, who is a retired contractor. While I thought about how to redesign the poplar guitar, he went off to rummage through some old wood he had in his basement, and returned with a few pieces of mahogany. It turns out that he happened to have this mahogany lying around, which had been in his basement for the past 20 years and took the form of a door from a Cape Cod house before that. We don't know how old it is, but there's a good chance it's 80-100 years old or more. Acoustically, it was spectacular; a highly irregularly shaped piece that formed the center of the door resonated better than the carefully shaped and tuned oak xylophone bars I had made a year ago. He had just enough to make a small-ish hollowbody.