So that's the question. How has playing guitar/music effected your life?

For me, I know that I was not in the best environment growing up. I could have easily been lead down I guess you'd call "the wrong path" drugs, alcohol at a young age, etc. etc. You get the point.

But that one day I tried guitar I knew I had a passion. I started playing everyday and that kept me centered even in the worst situations. Playing was my main source of happiness in those days, and even through thick and thin I could still use music to cure my depression and feel better. I'm glad I picked up guitar, because if I didn't I could be dead.

What about you guys? Has playing music significantly effected your life or is it just a hobby? If so, how?

(Favorite guitar player, not the best role model but best role model for guitar playing! lol)
- The wrong path is the right path.
- Affected is the word you were looking for in this usage.
- Playing music allows a channel for me to express whatever joy, frustration, and spontaneity I feel, so it is an invaluable part of my life.
Quote by denizenz
I'll logic you right in the thyroid.

Art & Lutherie
When I was like 14, word got around that I could play guitar and even to this day people I knew from back then always ask me if I still play. All I could play were power chords and do a little finger tapping but people acted like I was Eddie Van Halen or something. Unfortunately as you get older, fewer and fewer people care if you can play an instrument.

And as long as we're posting our heroes:
Last edited by HowSoonisNow at Feb 25, 2012,
It hasn't. At least not in any obvious way.
--------------╯╰--------------
A SIGNATURE.
--------------╮╭--------------
I got clean the moment I picked up a guitar.
جورجيا الاباحى؟ أيها
Right now it hasn't exactly done a whole lot, other than giving me something to do at home. As soon as I'm in a full band and we can actually begin doing stuff then I can definitely see it making an effect.
West Ham United