Greetings, I know there's a few different threads regarding this but I wanted to make one about my personal goals. I want to practice roughly 1-2 hours a day. I've been playing for about 7 months and I want to play pop/punk. I currently can play bits and peices of blink 182's "easier" songs, and I'm having some issues with getting faster on fret transitions. Mainly when frets are several full steps apart on different strings. I was wondering if you guys could help me get together a fairly effective practice routine that will not just be a lengthy practice but a good "Complete" practice routine. I also want to improve my open chords as well as alternate picking.

I currently know the A minor pentatonic scale, and the C major scale. I practice those roughly for 15-20 mins, after that I try some different open chords for about 10 mins, then I usually just take a peak at some tabs and see what I can play. I would really love to be able to play the blink 182 song "Carousel" start to finish. That's a nice goal of mine. Can you guys recommend a good practice routine for me?
Last edited by Dalymiddleboro at Feb 27, 2012,
Everyone is different, so you really aren't going to find an exact answer. I usually start off with finger exercises to get warmed up. I remember, when first starting off on guitar, getting my bar chords down helped me with finger placement. Maybe you could try learning some awkward jazz chords. Learn other scales, too. Just never limit yourself to one type of music to play.
Axes
Peavey V-Type NTB ST
Peavey PXD 23 II
Jackson JS32T
Ibanez RG 1570
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Blue Royale
ESP LTD EX-50

Amps & Effects
Mesa Boogie Nomad 55
Boss Katana KTN-Head
Roland JC-120
Boss GT-100
Boss ME-80
Zoom G5
Thanks for the quick reply! Aside from the C major scale, and the A minor pentatonic what other scales would you recommend? Also, what finger excercises do you start with? I've been using scales as my "finger excercises".