I have been in the market for a quite some time. It's not that I am picky or anything, just pacing back and forth contemplating something that I have never messed around with before or very much cared about. By this, I mean a guitar with a Floyd Rose. It all originated with me wanting something fast. Something modern, but with some vintage appeal. Something that I could basically just go apes**t crazy with and have fun. I also wanted a guitar like this so I could learn the headaches behind it. I suppose it would be a damn shame to say that I have been playing electric guitars for ten years and couldn't tell you how to even begin restringing a FR

Anyways, I would like to introduce you to my first FR-equipped guitar:

Kramer SM-1 (Stagemaster)

Where do I begin? First of all, this isn't an original USA Stagemaster from the 80s (I wish), but rather a reissue. Yes, they are made in Korea. No, I could care less. The guitar is still absolutely beautiful.

There are two models that Kramer came out with: a black version outfitted with EMGs and an off-white version (mine) loaded with Duncans. I am not sure what EMGs are in the black version, but mine has the Alternative 8 in the bridge with the Cool Rails in the middle and neck positions.

The body consists of a neck-thru construction with the wings and neck both Mahogany with an Ebony fingerboard. The neck is 25.5" scale with 24 frets and a 14" radius SlimTaper profile, which is something that struck my eyes because of my huge hands. I remember having a Gibson Nighthawk with the same neck profile and I was in love with it.