i find myself trying to write more music with soloing, or improv for various other reasons. ive actually had decent amount of experience doing it, but i dont know what guidelines i should be following. im self taught, and the only advice ive had for improv is that you should try phrasing your playing around words or a real phrase, which sounds really basic . ive also heard that youre supposed to build into fast parts, but i hear lots of soloing done in contradicting ways. can somebody with experience help me find a way that I can tell if my improvising meets standards?
There's no rules with improv. If it sounds good to you, do it. Don't let people tell you what you should and shouldn't do. Just play what you want to hear.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Quote by warbeast19
i find myself trying to write more music with soloing, or improv for various other reasons. ive actually had decent amount of experience doing it, but i dont know what guidelines i should be following. im self taught, and the only advice ive had for improv is that you should try phrasing your playing around words or a real phrase, which sounds really basic . ive also heard that youre supposed to build into fast parts, but i hear lots of soloing done in contradicting ways. can somebody with experience help me find a way that I can tell if my improvising meets standards?

There are no rules to improvising. There are no standards that are not self-imposed. Whatever process lets you play the melodies you want to play is the right one and nothing anyone says otherwise has any weight at all.