Hi everyone.

I have been playing for 4 years and have a squier strat with with a frontman 15gb amp. (they came as a package.) I play alot of different genres, things like the beatles, aerosimth, ACDC, guns n roses, BB King, and a bit of slide guitar. I don't play anything harder than mettalica. My price range for the guitar- no more than $600. Amp- not much more than $200.
Are there any brands for them that I should stay away from or lean towards? Any advice or recommendations would be helpful.

Thanks

Here is my guitar I have now- http://www.long-mcquade.com/products/3638/Guitars/Guitar_Packages/Fender_Musical_Instruments/Affinity_Special_FM15G_Pack_Metallic_Red.htm
As I'm sure a lot of people will tell you, the amp is the most important thing for tone. So I might think about switching the budgets, if I were you, especially if you're looking to keep the amp for a long time. Stay away from MG series Marshalls, and Line 6 Spiders, and maybe even exchange your guitar budget for some different pickups in the same guitar, and then the rest on the amp.
Quote by TenInchClock
As I'm sure a lot of people will tell you, the amp is the most important thing for tone. So I might think about switching the budgets, if I were you, especially if you're looking to keep the amp for a long time. Stay away from MG series Marshalls, and Line 6 Spiders, and maybe even exchange your guitar budget for some different pickups in the same guitar, and then the rest on the amp.

I agree to a point with this 'the amp is more important', yes, it does generate more of your sound and will make a more dramatic difference to your tone. However, personally, unless I was gigging, I'd rather play a really nice, quality instrument through a MG15 than a cheapo Squire through a Dumble. Just my take on things.
"We're content, to pitch our tent,
When the glory's evident"
Petra - Beyond Belief.