Hey guys

I've been collecting cash for two years, and I finally bought a guitar. It's a Jackson with maple fretboard, licensed floyd and emgs 81/85. It sounds awesome in E standard, frets are huge and neck is quick. I blocked the trem with some taped coins because its an unstable piece of shit to be honest, but now it resonates really well and sustain is pretty good.

The problem is - this guitar is WAY TOO BRIGHT!!! I mean really, it sounds pretty good but I have to turn Highs and Presence from 7-8 down to 4-5 so it doesnt sound like farting and I actually get some low end, but then it doesnt sound as selective and gets muddy.

I have an Ibanez GIO starter pack which was my first guitar. The quality sucks and it's made of 100pieces of random wood but it sounds pretty good... And I decided to compare the two guitars.

and guess what. Both guitars with the same tuning (drop C) same strings (10-52) attached to the same amp (6505+ 4x12 engl)

and 250$ ibanez sounds so much more powerful, LOTS of low end, perhaps the clarity sucks but I actually get some chugs. My 1000$ jackson just feels like a toy and sounds like it has built in phaser or something?

I've tried rolling down the tone knob, switching to neck pickup, but it all just doesn't sound right...

What can I do to make my guitar sound darker? It's mahogany but I think its the maple fretboard that gives me this goddamn high end annoying sound. I don't want to sell it because I've earned the money really hard, and I like the feel of that guitar....

But FFS I didn't think that 800bucks of diffrence and it still would sound worse...

help me : /
EMGs suck

/thread

but seriously, it's prolly the EMGs. check the battery
Call me Chris
Quote by jimihendrix6699
had a blast until the person in front of me whipped out his dick and started pissing all over the floor..

Ducks and guitars or fish and guitars. I lead a simple existence