Just wanted to quit lurking in the shadows and introduce myself. Not sure if I should be in the new member section, but my instrument and questions pertain to acoustic.

A little about me; I started playing about 4 years ago, however after learning a handful of songs and never any fundamentals, I quickly became frustrated with no progress and stopped playing. About 3 months ago now Ive started from the ground up. Im trying to learn scales, notes, chord shapes and beginning theory. There is tons of great info online, and Ive been trying to decide myself what I should and shouldnt learn next. But, being a newbie, I have no real reason why I should try and learn one thing over another. So far Ive learned all the natural notes up to the 12th fret, and am starting to learn names to go with them. Ive learned some basic shapes, pentatonic, pro blues, voodoo blues. Ive been practicing alternate picking and am starting to feel comfortable with it. Ive gotten comfortable with my chord shapes, but it still takes me more time then i would like to transition. I dont have a set in stone practice time for each. I kind of pick up the guitar for about an hour a day and just go through what I feel like doing at the time. I havent been learning any real songs yet, I am trying to hone my fundamentals first, so I dont fall into the same trap as last time I started.

So thats kind of where I stand right now. Am I on the right track so far? What should/ shouldnt I keep doing, and what should I start doing?

If it helps, Im playing an OvationMOB57, using Fender medium MOTO picks, and have an old kustom amp for when i want to plug in.
I think all that anyone could tell you is to keep it up.