In November I purchased a Blackstar HT20 combo, which I had been saving towards for around six months. I enjoyed the sound of it, and I used it for an hour to three hours a day, when I wasn't practicing technique on my acoustic. Early in January I left my only electric guitar in to the local music shop to have the frets stoned and polished, a process that for various reasons, meant I didn't play the amp at all for two weeks.

When I got my guitar back I plugged in and played for fifteen minutes, then a horrendous buzzing started. No signal from the guitar got through at all, it was just a wall of buzzing that happened on both channels, at various EQ and gain settings, with every cable I tried, with a spare power supply I had, and with a friend's guitar. Stumped, I took it to the shop where two different guys played through it with their own cables, guitars and power supplies.

It's now been in the shop for three weeks and they have been unable to fix it. They have said they will send it back to Blackstar, but I was talking to my teacher who teaches above the shop and he has discovered that the shop don't actually have a license to sell Blackstar products, and they haven't sent it to Blackstar for this reason. And obviously I haven't had an amp since I left it in, other than a Microcube which gets the job done, but it just doesn't provide the sound I want.

I have a few options here. Firstly, as the shop is trying to get rid of their remaining Blackstar stock, they offered my teacher's mate a Blackstar HT100 and matching 412 cab for £500. He declined and it's still there. What my teacher said was that I should offer the shop to swap the HT20 and £50 for the HT100 half stack, which will get it off their hands quickly. I like the idea of this, but 1) I'm not sure if it'll work, and 2) I'm not sure if I want another Blackstar HT product, simply because I'm worried I may get a similar problem.