Hey people!
Im gonna buy new strings. Im a total noob when it comes to strings. I have no idea which gauge to buy! I don't know the gauge of the strings on my guitar right now. They're about 3 months old and rusted. Drop D and Standard E and okay but it sucks when I lower it even further. Its way too muddy and really hard to tune perfectly. Also, when I strum a power chord, it sounds like the string is out of tune and I can hear the sound I get when the guitar is out of tune for 2-3 seconds and then it becomes normal.
So which gauge strings do you suggest I get for Drop C, Drop D and E standard (rarely)?
And is there any setting up to do on the guitar before changing the strings?
Yamaha Pacifica 012
Peavey Vypyr 15

Quote by jukejointjohnny
Pro Tip - Neck pickup, tone dial rolled all the way off, makes tuners respond WAY more accurately. I only learned this trick fairly recently, and it actually works.
what scale do you have?
i've got f 25.5" scale ibanez with edge III. and I use 10-56 strings for drop C, but I've got to say that my ibanez has more tension in strings in comparison with my Schecter with T-o-M.(maybe that's because of the edge III bridge)
maybe the strings is not the point here, try to adjust your scale length
Quote by Sciacca
For Drop C, use .11's(on the low E string). That's what I use.

.11s on the LOW E? ahhhhh...

I'd recommend .10-.52s. I use them to play in everything from E standard to drop B. The tension is pretty high when you're playing in E standard, but not ridiculous. I actually like how tight the strings are. When you're down in drop C they feel pretty normal. They're a little loose in drop B but they still work fine and play well.

EDIT: CatAmplifier raises a good point about scale length. .10-.52s work good on my LTD H-1001 with a 25.5" scale length and a tune-o-matic bridge. I'm not not sure how well they'd work on a guitar with a shorter scale or a guitar with a floating tremelo.
Last edited by MonsterMetalMus at Mar 5, 2012,