hello. im rather new to music theory, i have been studying it recently and i understand some concepts.. but i have questions. ive come accross modal scales as everyone does and how they are harmonized into making chords. as like.. maj mi mi maj maj mi dim (for all seven scale degrees). what are other ways to harmonize scales into chord progressions?

also how would you incorperate the 7th in those modal chord progressions? some of those sevenths are flat (relatively) so then they could ONLY be dominant chords? idk?

lastly ive come accross licks and phrases that seem to have both the major and minor pentatonic notes in them ( blues licks ). it still sounds good.. but why can you do that even tho those major pentatonic notes are not in the minor blues pentatonic scale?

someone with a solid understanding of music theory please help, before i go crazy trying to figure it out
Quote by kevinSerdynski
hello. im rather new to music theory, i have been studying it recently and i understand some concepts.. but i have questions. ive come accross modal scales as everyone does and how they are harmonized into making chords. as like.. maj mi mi maj maj mi dim (for all seven scale degrees). what are other ways to harmonize scales into chord progressions?

First things first, don't think of them as modal anything - modes are probably the quickest way for a beginner to get ahead of his or herself. They're just the way the different scale degrees of the major scale are harmonized. Don't worry about modes for now, they'll be a bit easier to grasp way down the road when you've got the basics in place.

To answer your question, you can harmonize any scale because chords can be built from any note. For now though, just focus on understanding the harmony behind the major scale (you have a good start at the moment) and everything else will make sense, I promise.

Quote by kevinSerdynski