First off let me say I've been playing guitar since September 2010, so that's about a year and a half. Lately I've just been feeling like I play really sloppy. My family says I'm good (but they're my family) and my sister showed this other guitarist a video of me soloing and he said I was good but I just don't believe it because I watched that video and I hated my playing, my tone (that cant be helped until I replace my pickups), and it looked and sounded sloppy. Not only did I sound sloppy in the video, I think I sound sloppy when playing in general. I suck, and I know it, and I don't understand why I'm hearing the opposite from others ( I apologize if I sound like a *insert negative adjective/word here*). So I wanted to ask this first in my series of questions in cleaning up my technique:

-How far should my fingers move from the fretboard when changing notes? For example: When I'm sequencing a scale how high should my fingers be when moving from note to note? (If anyone has a video example or any type of visual aid I'd love to see it )

-How much should I be moving my pick when playing? How small should the movements be? (This question also applies to my sequencing as well. I would also like to see an example of some sort for this if there is one )
Trust me, I'm a Jedi.

Quote by Minkaro
You must control your use of the force, young Trizek.
You should move your fingers as little off the fretboard as you can.
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album
My humble advice is this: