Ive started getting into some classical guitar and classical guitar requires finger picking skills but I have none. How does finger picking work? What fingers need to pick what string? Sorry but a complete noob here. I know a lot about guitar but not finger picking any tips would help! Ü
Generally your thumb will pick the bass strings and you use your first three fingers to pick the rest. It depends on the strings you happen to be playing, but whatever feels natural for your fingers should usually work. Try to keep the fingers you use assigned to certain strings, and only move them if you have to. Try practicing arpeggios with fingerpicking to get more practice.
⫷⫸⫷⫸⫷⫸⫷⫸⫷⫸⫷⫸⫷⫸⫷⫸⫷⫸⫷⫸
Airline 3P Deluxe
Gibson SG Special w/ SD 59's
Victoria MIJ 60's Electric Guitar
Martin DCX1E
Hughes & Kettner Tubemeister 18
Bunch of Pedals
Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar
I'd also suggest starting with as many fingers as possible, don't just use your thumb and index finger or else you can have some serious issues adding more fingers.
fingers you need to use.

p = thumb
i = index
m = middle
a = ring
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
Best first song to practise fingerpicking..

Nothing Else Matters.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PRfDJQY_Y8&ob=av2e

The intro to this COULD be a good fingerpicking exercise, but the left hand fingering would be seriously difficult for a beginner because of some really weird barre chords combined with hammerons and pulloffs and of course there's a couple harp harmonics in the end.

The clean arpeggios from 0:51 - 2:00 are really great too.
Last edited by vayne92 at Mar 8, 2012,
If you are "getting into" classical guitar I seriously recommend a teacher. Classical guitar is a very specific discipline with a very specific vocabulary of techniques, a language all it's own.