so i just started learning java and I java been reading alot so far and now i have just wrote the standard helloworld program.

I am having a problem compiling it though so maybe you guys can help cause i have tried the only thing i can think of the fix the error but it wont go away.here is the error

"HelloWorld.java:6: error: error while writing HelloWorld: HelloWorld.class <Access is denied>
public class HelloWorld {
^

1 error"

here is the code:

/*
HelloWorld.java
this program prints out hello world to the console
*/

public class HelloWorld {

public static void main(String[] args)
{

System.out.println("Hello World");
}

}
Last edited by brender at Mar 7, 2012,
Are you using Dr. Java?

If so, then reset your compiler.

Also, this thread will help you out with programming.
ggg1 ggg3

i am wrote it in notepad++ and i am using javac to compile

also thanks for the link.I have been on this site for 7 years now and i dont think i have ever seen that thread

Edit: lol just looked at the date of when the thread was made.guess i havent seen it because it hasn't been up long
Last edited by brender at Mar 7, 2012,
Your compiler does not have permission to access the .java file.

Where is your HelloWord.java file saved on your computer?
ggg1 ggg3

Quote by brender
i have it saved in the same folder that i have all the jdk files in
So, I'm guessing it's saved in C:\Program files\jdk ? (Or something along those lines?)

If so, then that's the problem. The compiler isn't allowed to access files there. Save your .java file in another location (ie Desktop, My Documents, etc.)
ggg1 ggg3

Quote by brender
yes i am using the command prompt and i am using windows 7
Download a program called Dr. Java

It'll make coding a lot easier in java.
ggg1 ggg3

Get Linux.

But seriously, through the terminal, navigate so that your active working directory is whatever directory your HelloWorld.java file is saved in. Then, call javac HelloWorld.java. It should work.