I have about $300 burning a hole in my metaphorical pocket just aching to be spent on some new gear. I'm looking for some advice on what to spend it on. Here's some background that might help:

- I'm a relatively new guitarist, only played for about a year and a half.
- Really only play metal, specifically into melodic metalcore stuff.
- Have a decent little amp already (Blackstar HT-5R), so I'm pretty satisfied there as it meets my (relatively particular) needs.
- Own two guitars, not really looking for another at this point. Pickups may be an option though.
- Only have one pedal (a Boss MD-2) that I really don't care for, so I'm leaning this direction.

I'm thinking pedals/effects might be my best "next step." I've sort of been considering a multi-effects unit of some sort. I like the idea of the Line 6 Pod HD300 or maybe the Vox Tonelab EX (or the cheaper ST) and have done a fair bit of research on them. Would definitely be open to suggestions on standalone pedals/effects that would help me get a good Killswitch sort of tone. I did try a Maxon OD808 (which is what a lot of the bands I listen to use) for a while, but it didn't really give me what I was looking for with my amp at least.

So, anyhow, I'm just looking for any other suggestions. "Save up for something else" is also a very acceptable answer if there's a more expensive, better piece of equipment I should go after.

Thanks in advance!
pod hd300 is your best bet in your budget but if you can save up get the hd500/6505 head
i wouldnt reccomend using the od808 with ht5 it costs like half of the ht5 you can get 808's clone from guitarfetish
Gear:
Peavey 6505 120W Head
Ibanez Rga32 (FOR SALE)
Laney Lv412a Cab(FOR SALE)
Soon To Get::
Boss DD20
Morley Bad Horsie II
Quote by darkwolf291
Hookers and blow.
ALWAYS a good way to spend money.

you beat me to it.
Quote by element4433
One time I watched a dog lick his own dick for twenty minutes.

Quote by Roc8995
No.