Hey UG how's it going; I'm new to guitar though I've been playing since like August so I like to think I'm not a total scrub but I have a couple newbie questions:

Alright so I've read plenty about the importance of using metronomes and I've been trying to incorporate them into exercises and warm-ups, but I have yet to use them for practicing actual songs yet. I was wondering do I need the actual sheet music for playing along with a metronome? I mean how else would I know whether to play directly on the tick or not? I'm sorry if this is a dumb question but it would help to know.

On the same note it would be great if you all could give some tips on using a metronome. Like should I be increasing speed during my practice session or should I just play at one speed and then the next time I practice amp the speed up.

This might sound like a silly question but do you guys(and gals?) have any recommendations for how many songs I should be learning at a time? Like I've learned a handful of different riffs and songs but I can really only play a couple perfectly the others are off a bit; some more than others. When I practice though I usually practice one song for little and then switch to something else for a little and so and then go back to what I was playing originally etc. I kind of realized that I've been playing many of the same songs for probably a few months now and yet I haven't really nailed them down as I thought I would have by now. So is it better if one just does exercises and then concentrates on one song at a time? I sort of feel like I'm in a rut doing what I'm doing.