Hi, I'm completely new to guitars and everything to do with them, but I've decided to buy a Digitech Death Metal pedal. Is it designed to change a clean guitar signal to metal?

When I press the pedal on the clean mode, it sounds awful, and I've tried loads of settings on the pedal.

My amp is a Line 6 Spider IV 15.

Thanks in advance!
Quote by stykerwolf
ditch the amp and pedal, sorry bro but those two do not make for good tone

seconded.
get the metal muff theres three of them they all sound better than the digitechs. or the digitech df 7 but they are a little more pricey.
press ctrl + w
+1 to what the guys said above about your setup. IF you still want to get a distortion pedal then look into the Hardwire TL2
ok, but I've bought it now, surely the pedal will turn the clean tone into a metal sound though?
Since you are a beginner I have to ask, what are the settings on the amp? With all metal pedals there is no cleaning them up, but if you shut it off the signal should be clean. As a rule of thumb all digitech pedal pre hardwire including the rp series are horrible. Stay away from the mt-2 as well, the guy who said metal muff got it right.
Quote by sjm95
out of interest, why does my amp vary from this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GnD6jtXqw0

wait...what?
Fender Strat Deluxe
Fender MexiStrat
Epiphone Sheritan
Ibanez Artcore
Fender Twin Reverb silverface
Roland JC120
Pedals

Quote by CaptainAmerican
I would recommend the marshal MG100

Very versatile and quality sound. It should treat you well
Quote by sjm95
Hi, I'm completely new to guitars and everything to do with them, but I've decided to buy a Digitech Death Metal pedal. Is it designed to change a clean guitar signal to metal?

When I press the pedal on the clean mode, it sounds awful, and I've tried loads of settings on the pedal.

My amp is a Line 6 Spider IV 15.

Thanks in advance!

I have the same pedal and amp. I use the crunch setting on the amp and turn the drive to zero. It works perfectly.