So I've got the technical aspect of guitar down (definately not mastered lol) but I'm self-taught and went backwards and never learned theory first (or at all really during the process). Since starting to learn (or trying to anyway lol) the last year and a half or so my playing has increased tenfold over what it was the previous 12 years of "just tabbing" it. So I have an understanding of scales and basic progression principals and I know my chord shapes (well, all the main/most used ones) but there's still a lot I'm trying to learn. two things I've been wondering about lately:

1 - Is there a definitive "proper" way to finger chords, making all other ways technically wrong, or is the most important thing player comfort? For example, being self taught I would just look at a tab (this was the worst way ever to learn I now realize lol, took the VERRRY long road) and it would say:

A

e|-0-
B|-2-
G|-2-
D|-2-
A|-0-
E|-0-

So I finger it Ring finger on B, Index on G, Middle on D. I do this because when I looked at the tab for all the open chords I noticed that D also shared the G 2nd fret and E was G first fret. So my logic was that index finger could just stay down for those chord switches, which was easier to make the switches as a beginner. The "lazy" way I guess? Problem is, that shape for A is so engrained in my muscle memory that no matter how much I'm trying different fingerigs for A, once I start playing the song at speed I always find myself playing it my original way. I don't even notice it until I actually look, it's just so natural. So then I start forcing myself to do it a different way and then I mess up playing because instead of listening to the time I'm thinking in my head of the chord fingering, which then trips when up when it comes. I hesitate a split second thinking of the fingering.