So I've come to you once again, Pit, in search of your advice!

This week I started my music major in composition, and the course requires me to learn piano and solfège. I don't own a piano or a keyboard of any kind, I have zero experience with them and the little I know I read online. Basically I need a cheap keyboard where to practice piano at home. The catch? I'm in the TIGHTEST budget, so I need the absolute cheapest thing I can find that can address my needs. I thought I would just get a bare-bones MIDI controller to connect to my computer, and right now I'm set on getting a M-Audio Keystation 88es. It's cheap, it's full-size, has semi-weighted action and I can give it other uses (writing scores in Finale, composing music, as a controller for VSTs, etc). The cons are that it has no speakers, no sound of its own, but it's the best I can afford (as far as I know). As I'm a newbie I have some doubt and I don't know if I'm better off looking for something else. I'm just looking for anything where I can practice piano and solfège. Be aware that I'm in Costa Rica, so not all brands are available to me and prices might be higher in here.
Wave goodbye to the past.
You've got your whole life to lead.

Fender 60's Lacquer Jazzmaster
Schecter C-1+ with SD '59
Egnater Tweaker 15
PolyTune noir
Algal Bloom fuzz
Fingerprint Redux fuzz
Nocturner reverb
Flashback delay
Last edited by cxrlxscr at Mar 10, 2012,
I have an M-Audio Oxygen 26 and it's great. M-Audop are fantastic man, if you can gtet one cheap then go for it.
Quote by cxrlxscr
The cons are that it has no speakers, no sound of its own, but it's the best I can afford (as far as I know).

That's only a con if you don't realize the better keyboards generally don't have any built in speakers. Plug it into a stereo or headphones and you're golden.