OK, quick bio. I started learning guitar in 97. I didn't take it seriously and wasted alot of my mom's money. I can play rhythm pretty well, like galloping etc but I never learned scales or pretty much anything for lead guitar. I was lazy and if it took more than 5 minutes(more like 1 minute) to get half way good, I quit. Fast forward to now. I'm 28 and want to get serious. I love metal but can't play a solo to save my life.

Now that you know me, here is my question. I have seen dozens of really well thought out exercises(including full books on the subject), but they all leave one thing out: how long(or how fast) do I play an exercise before moving on to the next one. 100BPM? 150 BPM? XBPM? And during a session, should I be doing multiple excercises(3 for example) , 20 minutes at a time for an hour or just one for the whole hour(just using an hour as a for instance)?

I guess what I'm looking for is structure, not just a laundry list of exercises but how long to play them, when to move on to the next one, how long to play at a clean bpm before adding speed etc.

Most lessons say find your max CLEAN speed for the day and take it down a few metronome clicks and practice there. Awesome, but again, for how long?

I'm sorry for the long first post, but once I get a good proven practice routine down, I can start practicing efficiently instead of just winging it. Thank you so much in advance.

P.S. I did read the 21 day challenge thread and the other stickies, but I don't think they hit on my question. If they did, feel free to slap me upside the head.
BABY STEPS BRO! Learn a solo, but learn it one run at a time. Once you have the first phrase down PERFECT, start working on the following phrase. Then learn to play the BOTH, seamlessly. Now you are ready to learn the next part of what is really just a bunch of riffs, strung together in different octaves etc.

Soloing is just like riffing, but the riff is a 32-measure phrase.