Poll: Vote
Poll Options
View poll results: Vote
Yeah, I think everyone does, except maybe newborn babies or things along that nature
126 56%
Maybe not EVERYone, but the vast majority
54 24%
I don't think everyone is like that. Plenty of people aren't
37 17%
Other
7 3%
Voters: 224.
Page 1 of 4
This is something I've always been on the fence about.

Do you agree with the idea that everyone, whether subconsciously or not, stereotypes, generalizes, etc. people based on race or sex? It might be very small, passive, etc. but psychologically it's almost impossible to avoid?

For me, I don't support racism and I think stereotyping is bad and all that good stuff, yet I know that sometimes I might stereotype people based on race very passively. It's usually small, but I know I still do it. I don't think it's something good about myself, but I'd be naive if I thought I've never done it before.

On one hand, it's very hard for me to imagine somebody who totally views everyone as an individual, and doesn't stereotype or generalize in the slightest, and he notices no difference between races or sexes that are beyond physical.

Yet on the other hand, just because it's hard for me to imagine doesn't mean it doesn't exist, and who am I to claim every single person does it?
i hate your ****ing threads. they're always designed for a 200+ post discussion and shit. its so pretentious
Quote by killjoy_bentley
i hate your ****ing threads. they're always designed for a 200+ post discussion and shit. its so pretentious
Sorry to hear that.
People are threatened by things they don't understand, or that are different. A person from a rich white gated community who has never seen a minority in their life will think differently of them because they are visibly different. Its up to the individual at that point to either try to understand them, or hate them.