Hey,

I have been playing guitar for almost 3 years and I have been an acoustic player since the beginning. I wondered if any of you feel the same way like me:

I kind of see electric guitar as a "technical stuff", not really a classic instrument. Here is why. If you dont have an amp, you are basically screwed... Therefore, you are dependant on equipment, technical stuff, etc...

On the other hand, the acoustic guitar does not have the required volume to keep up with a band or something like that WITHOUT a built-in amplification system (unless you do only strumming and these sort of stuff), so again, you are dependant on equipment.

Look at for example a violin, bass, trumpet, or any other instrument. They dont need artificial amplification, only a microphone and thats it (or no mic at all). In many cases acoustics havent got enough volume even to just simply play with others in a garage or something.

This started to bother me a little bit nowadays, and I dont know how you guys feel about this. So tell me your opinions!
Instruments are only as complicated as you choose to make them really.
On playing the Paul Gilbert signature at the guitar store extensively, my missus sighed:
"Put it down now, It's like you love that guitar more than me!"
In Which I replied.
"Well it has got two F-Holes!"
The term 'technically demanding' the way you're using it is a bit misleading. If you mean you need a lot of kit to work it then yeah, electric guitar does need a relatively large amount. But to play large venues, all instruments need some kind of amplification to be heard really
My Soundcloud
Always up for some C4C, been compared to Frank Turner, The Cure's Robert Smith and Bruce Springsteen so check out my stuff if you like the sound of that
Two ends of the spectrum:

Yngwie Malmsteen/Steve Vai/etc: Tons of technical proficiency

Punk music in general: The every mans genre of music for guitar

As previously stated, it's only as technical as you choose to make it.