Hey guys,

Ive been practicing my jazz chords for the past couple of days and focusing on chord progressions to get away from scale playing.

I went back to lead guitar today, and i aint as fast as i was before i started practicing these chords non stop...

Is this normal? whats going on with my hand??
whenever you stop practicing one thing for a period of time your skills fade, all you need to do is try to add your old licks to your practice time...
Quote by Dirk Gently
Some pieces are only meant to be played by people with six fingers on their fretting hand. Sorry.
they died man.

also there's a lot more than speed involved. keep up the practice, but start getting away from scales. if you can read music, i recommend getting the berklee method books -- that shit will whip you into shape.

if you can't read music, i recommend getting them even more.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
so is guitar playing like working out to build muscle?

If i dont use a certain skill will fade away?

Quote by IbanezMan989
so is guitar playing like working out to build muscle?

If i dont use a certain skill will fade away?

most everything in life is like that. language is certainly like that. and yes, working out is like that.

just do a little bit every day or couple of days to keep it alive.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
Read my sig.

You have to practice at least a little bit of everything, every day to stay at performance standard.
If I miss one day of practice, I notice it.
If I miss two days, the critics notice it.
If I miss three days, the audience notices it.

Ingacy Jan Paderewski (1860 - 1941)
Last edited by Quintex at Mar 15, 2012,
A few days really shouldn't have that much affect on your playing ability. However a couple of months, yeah it starts lessening.

I'd guess that you're either at a very beginner level, or you're actually listening to yourself. Both these would suggest a difference in level or perceived level after a couple of days.