So i'm pretty new to all this theory stuff but i'm doing my best.. My question though..

Basically the G minor pentatonic scale's 1st position would start on the 3rd fret of the E string right.. and then eventually you'll be playing the open strings further down that scale and stuff...

My question is... Lets say i want to play the F minor pentatonic scale, how would i go about doing so? I can't play position 1 the same as i would with a G minor pentatonic scale because of obvious fret restrictions.. Because of this do i instead start the F minor pentatonic on the 13th fret of the E string?

I hope what i'm trying to say makes sense.. I just got back from my guitar lesson and it's really doing my head in (my teacher did say it would) but i really really want to make sense of it all..

So if anyone can make sense of what i'm trying to say and provide an answer it would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
The notes in each scale are the notes in each scale .. just use the notes you can use, the scales go all across the fretboard, so if/when you've learnt every box of the pentatonic (its not hard) then you can just go up/down from certain positions as required.
Dont let it put you off, its really simple... just wait till you start learning all the diatonics xD (aeolian/dorian etc)

If an example helps, then say you're using the F sharp minor ... you could do a lick starting on the open E, or the open A, as they are in the scale, however you couldn't use the open D string, and so you'd have to move up to the regular pentatonic box, starting at the second fret.

F minor, and you'd just basically have to call the first fret your base, as you can't go lower at all.
Just learn the 5 Minor Pentatonic shapes and you're sorted.

http://www.blguitar.com/lesson/advanced/5blues_shapes.html