Hi,

I have recently begun to take an interest to build instruments from scratch and/ or customizing them to have a different sound or a more personal look. But my problem is that I don't have a lot of experience with instruments yet, I can only change strings to my bass and adjust the height of the strings. Also, I am not very good at building anything in general, and I have only some basic tools available for use. I'm also a little afraid of damaging my current Squier Affinity P-bass while experimenting.

So, is there any simple modification I could possibly do to my Squier? It would be great if I could start by replacing something small and simple in it to change its looks. I was thinking about ordering a pickguard online and replacing it, but is it easy enough for a beginner like me to handle? Or am I a total no-hoper?

And sorry if this is in a wrong section or something, I was looking around already but I couldn't find anything similar to my situation anywhere.
You're not a "total no-hoper" in the slightest. All you have to do when you're starting out is take your time and step back to think about what you're doing occasionally. A pickguard swap would be very simple and a great place to build yourself some confidence.

You just new a screwdriver, some pliers (or proper sized wrenches), and a bowl to keep parts in while you work. No soldering required.
Changing the pickguard is probably the easiest modification to do. If you have a screwdriver you can do it. You could also change the pickups, maybe add a killswitch. I'm not a bassist so I don't really know what popular bass mods are out there.