Hey guys Im lookin for upgrade to a new amp. It'll be used mostly for practice since Im still a beginner mostly. Right now I got a peavy vypyr 30 and im looking for something with less focus on features and more focus on a nice hard rock tone out of the box. Cant stress enough that its gotta be low volume though as my neighbors already hate us.

Budget: about $400-600 depending on how much I can get away with

Bands: GNR, early Metallica

amp will be used with a regular epiphone les paul std.
i would say one of the roland cubes but it's kinda in the same category as the vyper, whether or not its better is another story, i like them more but you could look into those. i think orange and blackstar make low wattage amps that will work out well
Fender Strat Deluxe
Fender MexiStrat
Epiphone Sheritan
Ibanez Artcore
Fender Twin Reverb silverface
Roland JC120
Pedals

Quote by CaptainAmerican
I would recommend the marshal MG100

Very versatile and quality sound. It should treat you well
Jet City JCA20 or JCA22.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
Quote by gerraguitar
i would say one of the roland cubes but it's kinda in the same category as the vyper, whether or not its better is another story, i like them more but you could look into those. i think orange and blackstar make low wattage amps that will work out well

I would go with the blackstar HT-1. They have a very wonderful tone and are perfect for low volume practice.
if you want tube - and by the sounds of things you do, keep it below 20 or maybe even 15 watts; Even a Blackstar ht-5 (5 watt tube powered) that i played through in a store was loud for such a small combo. Look at Orange tiny terror, blackstar ht-5, marshall ma-5, laney cub, and i'm sure jet city do some sub 20 watt tube amps
Quote by thelordofdarkch