So I've been playing guitar for about 5-6 years and early on got hooked on to using tabs. I would really like to step away from the playing other's songs and stuff and start learning other styles and scales ect. What would be the best way to go about this.

thanks for looking.
do you know any theory? that would be great place to start.

check out musictheory.net there are some great lesssons there.
Quote by Dirk Gently
Some pieces are only meant to be played by people with six fingers on their fretting hand. Sorry.
theory man. learning the building blocks of music will allow you to not only create your own music, but tackle harder compositions.

you mentioned you were hooked on tabs? just keep in mind it is possible to learn music theory without notation, or even better, along side learning notation. i see a lot of people coming from solid tablature reading getting freaked out by notation, then forgetting theory all together.

try to split different aspects of music and theory up to suit how you best learn. in other words balancing visual, auditory, and physical learning to give you an advantage. this will pay off in the future.
Learn theory, learn the notes of the fretboard, listen to more music, improvise.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Read up on the circle of fifths, it'll help you put chords together into progressions.
Quote by innovine
Read up on the circle of fifths, it'll help you put chords together into progressions.