Hi. I was planning on getting a drum set soon and I was wondering how I would go about teaching myself.

Can I get any advice on this, please?
I can really recommend drumlessonscom on youtube. Lots of very useful lessons on there.
A large portion of drumming is practice. Technique is developed as you drum for longer amounts of time. Just remember, that drumming is not all about being able to do crazy things. Repetition.
Or you can try going Here.

You'll be able to find everything you need, and more.
Days go on forever
But I have not left your side
We can chase the dark together
If you go then so will I
http://www.schoolofmusiconline.com/

This really is the place to go. Lot's of youtube videos and freedrumlessons.com dumb stuff down or teach you bad habits, this site is the absolute best place for the absolute beginner to learn drums. After you've got your technique down and can play confidently in time (ALWAYS USE A MUTHA****IN METRONOME WHEN PRACTICING) then there are all sorts of interesting youtube videos and such to teach you some beats, fills, concepts, ect. but if you try those out now as a beginner you'll probably learn everything wrong, it's best to just get your technique as close to perfect as possible and always stay in as close to perfect time as possible before you move on to crazy fills 'n' such.

edit: I also recommend some books on marching band/drumline snare drumming, and "Funky Primer for the Rock Drummer," and of course the Chapin book "Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer." The Chapin book is where you learn to go from "yeah I can keep time and all" to "give me a beat and I'll play it backwards with my hands tied behind my back."
Last edited by TMVATDI at Mar 19, 2012,
If you don't mind spending a few dollars, learnandmaster.com has a decent videoset on drumming. Haven't look that closely that the drum one, but if it's anything near what the guitar course is, it's not really that much they'll skip.