Hey all. My band are going to be in the recording process soon, my drummer has got a Boss BR900CD recording unit, which he gave me to learn a few weeks back and I feel I've got the hang of it now. I did a rough recording of a track I made up a few weeks back. The lyrics were made up on the spot so that's why they're repeated. I plugged the guitar into the input and recorded it (and recorded a bass track) and used a Shure SM57 to record my vocals. Layered it all then double tracked it, EQ'd on PC. I've never done all of this before but I think it's come out OK. I know I can't sing, and don't fret I am not the singer of our band, just backing! Just did it for testing purposes really. With the band we will be mic'ing up the amps (didn't do it here as it's too loud at home) and mic'ing up the drums. So any criticism/advice would be appreciated. I feel I put way too much reverb on the solo. Youtube has somewhat compressed the sound, the original is much clearer. Cheers!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8RdwQgRPE9I

edit: http://soundcloud.com/craig-davies-5/song-ab
Yamaha Pacifica 112j
Marshall JCM 100DSL
Custom 2x12 G12H Extension Cab

Nevermind.........
Last edited by vacant_pistol at Mar 19, 2012,
...nothing?
Yamaha Pacifica 112j
Marshall JCM 100DSL

Nevermind.........
Nice stuff, some drums for dynamics would make it twice the song, you might want to consider learning to program drums as its much easier than miking a whole drum kit. You've made a classic mistake though in making the guitar solo louder than it needs to be, all my recordings (which were also done on a BR 900) from the start had lead guitar way to high, because as a guitarist I had obvious bias towards it.

I've never understood why bands shell out for professional recordings when home studios are so brilliant these days.
SMILE!